Association The Leading Hotels of The World

From 19 to 22 November in the Venice Giorgio Cini Foundation hosted the annual Congress of members of the Association The Leading Hotels of The World, uniting more than 450 luxury hotels worldwide. In addition to discussions of current issues in the hospitality industry, during the Congress was the presentation of awards to the best representatives of LHW.

Award Commitment to Excellence Awards traditionally awarded to those hotels whose concept of service is beyond the scope of the standard. Taken into account and a positive effect on their environmental, social and cultural activities. This year the winners were The Gleneagles Hotel (Perthshire, Scotland), Taj West End (Bangalore, India), Hotel Okura (Tokyo, Japan).

The winners of the prize Commitment to Quality Awards have become hotels of different regions of the world, recognized for high quality service. In Europe the victory was won by Villa San Michele (Florence, Italy) and Baur au Lac (Zurich, Switzerland); in the middle East and Africa – Le Touessrok (Mauritius) and Maia Luxury Resort & Spa (Mahe, Seychelles); in the Asia-Pacific region, the Taj Exotica Resort and Spa (South male Atoll, Maldives) and The Nam Hai (Hanoi, Vietnam); in the United States and Canada – The Hay-Adams (Washington, USA) and The Inn at Palmetto Bluff (Bluffton, South Carolina, USA); in Mexico, the Caribbean and South America – Grand Velas All Suites& Spa Resort (Riviera Maya, Mexico) and Carlisle Bay (Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda).

Another award brucebase at the event – Leaders Club Awards. The main criterion in the selection of the winners was the opinion of the members of the club Leaders Club Services Department, which after staying in hotels answered the questions of a special form. Best results of the poll were declared King George Palace (Athens, Greece), Excelsior Hotel Ernst (Cologne, Germany) and Rocco Forte Le Richmond (Geneva, Switzerland).

For the first time this year, hotels were the first in their categories were invited to the gala dinner, held on November 22 at the Opera house La Fenice. Their representatives were presented with watches from the long-time sponsor and partner of the event, Blancpain, and also special prizes from Tiffany. The winners of the Grand Prize Awards have become The Gleneagles Hotel (Perthshire, Scotland), Taj Exotica Resort and Spa (South male Atoll, Maldives) and King George Palace (Athens, Greece).

A list of awards, which will be presented to the Association of Leading Hotels of the World, in 2010, will join another Leading Legends Award. This was announced by the President of LHW Ted Teng. This prize will be awarded to hoteliers, who made a great contribution to the preservation and improvement of independent hotels. The jury at the next awards ceremony will include the Chairman of the Board of LHW Jean-Jacques Goar, designer Donald GU, chief editor of the magazine Travel + Leisure Nancy Novogrod and renowned hotelier, Georg Rafael.

The oldest hotels in the world
The hotel Ryokan Hashes in Japan is the oldest in the world The oldest hotels in the world - today most of them are either in museums or in ruins.…

Continue reading →

Vintage Boutique Hotel
Hotel in Lviv, you'll want to go back... In one of the most ancient architectural buildings, not far from the Arsenal and the town Hall, were occupied by the Lviv…

Continue reading →

5 most romantic hotels in the world
New positive emotions like nothing else warm feelings. We present you the five most romantic hotels in the world where your heart will be pounding to the beat and you…

Continue reading →